River Gods Tour
A fascinating visitor experience exploring the rich history of an 18th-century architectural masterpiece while encompassing over 230 years of Irish History.
Opened in November 2021, the Custom House Visitor Centre reveals the stories attached to the building, burning, and restoration of this iconic Dublin landmark. Designed by architect James Gandon and opened in 1791, the Custom House has stood sentinel over the River Liffey for over 200 years.
The Custom House has witnessed much change over its long history, from the city’s development to many turbulent milestones that left their mark on the country – from the Act of Union to the War of Independence. Its build was met with fierce opposition, and its destruction by fire in 1921 demonstrates the controversies surrounding Gandon’s masterpiece.
The Custom House’s architectural beauty and splendour still attracts to this day, and Edward Smyth’s 14 River God keystones are just a few of the many detailed statues that adorn the building.
The Custom House Visitor Centre is a multi-sensory exhibition with interactive screens, visual displays, and audio benches to enhance the visitor experience.
**This tour can be cancelled on short notice
Get Tickets HERE